The Anime Interrogation Game

I’ve been tagged in an anime interrogation game. Here are the rules:

  • Each person is supposed to follow the rule of fives.You are allowed to ask 5 questions, after which you can tag up to 5 bloggers by hyper-linking to their blog; 5 questions because it’s not too many to flood another blogger and occupy too much of his/her time, but yet a large enough number to ask your most important questions, and 5 bloggers to avoid spamming. Hence, prioritize your questions, and who you wish to ask!
  • Those tagged are obliged to answer the questions in a blog post, and after which, they are entitled to create their own 5 questions and tag 5 other bloggers, so on and so fourth. You are allowed to tag the person that tagged you in the first place. Also, copy and paste this section on your blog so others can understand how the game goes.
  • In the case where a blogger strongly refuses to answer a question, he/she must instead post a nice anime image, wallpaper or cosplay picture, et cetera in response to that question.
  • To make things interesting, a blogger can include wildcards in his/her 5 questions by placing an asterisk, (*), after which those tagged are obliged to reveal something interesting about themselves that others did not previously know. There is no limit to the number of asterisks one can place (which means there can be up to 5 wildcard questions).
  • Anyone can feel free to start the game; you don’t necessarily need someone to tag you. Just create your 5 questions and tag your 5 people of choice. However, the catch is that you must answer your own 5 questions as well.
  • To potentially prevent an endless game, this round of games will end on the 8th September 2012, 12pm JST (GMT +9). After which, no more bloggers can tag others to answer their questions.

Here are Hoshiko’s Questions:

1. What or who inspired you to start your blog?

My girlfriend loves anime and all these stuff related to it. But we got some taste differences. While she prefers the likes of K-ON, Ano Hana, and Wallflower, I love Dantalian no Shoka, Hyouka, and Detective Conan. But of course, there’s always an anime where we always sync. Gosick, Kimi ni Todoke, Kare Kano.

Okay, so this blog took a time off for almost half a year. And it took me into reading one of Hoshiko’s post, which inspired me to write again, and I thank her for that. I never stop writing. I have a Nintendo blog somewhere, and I maintain it well. My problem has always been WordPress cracking up. I don’t know why. I’m glad I can still read every WordPress blogs that I follow.

2. What is your favorite anime/manga series that was released in the last two years?

Gosick. World War I, Japan, history, detectives, mystery, a cute sleuth. Gosick has all the themes that I am interested in. Not to mention the Holmes and Watson characters of Victorique and Kazuya Kujo. It made me return into watching anime.

This blog is pretty much set up for the purpose of glorifying that anime which I think only few people like. I haven’t even done a Gosick review because I know I cannot make myself clear. But there are people who did write good things about it, such as OG. And my friends seemed to get over and like it as well as soon as they watched that Leviathan arc.

3. What is your favorite OP or ED song from the Summer Anime 2012 series?

Dreamer, from Tari Tari. Ahh. . I love that anime. <3

ookami-san and her seven companions

4. Which anime do you think deserves a second season? If possible, please explain why.

Most 12-episode anime deserve a second season. This is just a personal opinion, but for me, it will be Ookami-san to Shichinin no Nakamatachi, (Okami-san and Her Seven Companions.) Anyone out there who have watched it? Why do I want it to have a second season? There was this time last year, my girlfriend was telling me how much she liked the anime, and how the personalities of the main characters resembled ours, and that she can’t wait for the second season, and then I told her, “There’s no second season.”.. and then she punched me in the face.

The manga, if what I have read is correct, is one chapter to conclusion. So perhaps, a second season can happen.

5. If there’s anything you can change about the anime/manga/figure industry, what would it be?

This is actually tied to video games. You see, there are some fantastic crossover games in Japan that seemingly cannot be released outside because of licensing issues. For example, one western company holds the rights for this anime character, while the other western company holds the rights for the other anime character that appeared in the video game. I can think of one example – Jump Ultimate Stars.

And of course, licensing, patent, and trademark laws are brain straining and sometimes their interpretation differs depending on who reads it. Samsung just lost 2 days worth of their revenue as payment to Apple in their historic case that happened days ago.

But we’re talking about anime. Just like Pokemon, who has only one governing body that holds the rights (The Pokemon Company,) I hope something like that can happen to anime distribution and licensing. But it will be very very difficult, as companies want their share first, over the consumers’ well being.

Anyway. I’ve answered the questions. Here’s mine. I’ll be tagging these people: OG, Eurydice-chan, EveningRose, Mdz. Please don’t get mad at me for tagging you guys even if this is anime-centric and some of you are not really into that or into this blog carnival thing.   :(

And so here are my questions that I would like you to answer:

1. How do you balance watching your Japanese-related entertainment (in this case, anime) with other hobbies or other life-related activities?

I have barely enough time to watch all the anime that I wanted to watch. I can only allot 1 hour (at least, hehe) everyday. Yes, it’s a sad state of affairs but I think this is one sacrifice I have to make when I started working and of course, when everything about me doesn’t revolve around schools anymore.

2. What do you think about video games adapted from anime?

For me, it will be fine as long as it has its own story. In the same way that superhero movies translated into video games will always be horribly bad, I can say the same with anime being adapted into video games.

3. What is the most interesting anime-genre?

For me, of course, the detective-mystery genre will always mean “exciting” to me. When an anime is tagged in that group, I will always take a look at it and see if it is interesting.

4. Name one live-action movie that is adapted from an anime series. What do you think of it?

Shinobi – Heart Under Blade. Top class actors. Top class production. It did try to get the entire gist of the anime (and the novels) in around 120 minutes. All in all. It was very good.

5. Name one anime in the 90′s that will forever hold a place in your heart. 

I should say Pokemon, because I freaking cried in that Butterfree episode, but I will be choosing Neon Genesis Evangelion. I don’t know about you, but if you watched an anime as immersive as The Vision of Escaflowne, or Gundam Wing, or Evangelion, you will have this idea of how anime is actually better than your weekly Donald Duck and Mickey Mouse show you watch every Saturday. Anime is different, and some of the epic anime in the 1990s proved that.

3 thoughts on “The Anime Interrogation Game

  1. When I wrote that post, I never thought it’ll inspire anyone so thank you for letting me know =).

    I read that WordPress works best in Firefox? I’m not sure though cuz mine never given me much issue, but I’m using Chrome on Windows 7.

    Gosick’s a good one too. I miss that show already. I really hope the ones who stopped watching midway will give it another shot because the show gets better and better as it continues on. They missed out much, I’d say.

    Omg, seriously?! Your girlfriend punched you in the face for saying that? I hope you’re okay right after the punch. >.< It sounds painful though. I've only watched the first episode. It's not bad and will most likely to pick it up when I have ample time.

    By the way, I hope you didn't get mad at me for tagging you…

    • When I wrote that post, I never thought it’ll inspire anyone so thank you for letting me know =).

      Well, yeah, it really did make me go back into posting here again. :) I owe a lot to you when it comes to writing here, but since I am shy, let’s just end it at that! Haha. xD

      I read that WordPress works best in Firefox? I’m not sure though cuz mine never given me much issue, but I’m using Chrome on Windows 7.

      I use Google Chrome on 7 as well. I think this is something that is IP related. Okay, tomorrow I’ll contact them when I am at home.

      Omg, seriously?! Your girlfriend punched you in the face for saying that? I hope you’re okay right after the punch. >.< It sounds painful though. I've only watched the first episode. It's not bad and will most likely to pick it up when I have ample time.

      It didn’t hurt because if she would have wanted to knock the hell out of me, she can because she’s really strong. She can defend herself more than I can defend myself. You get the idea? That’s why we are sorta like the characters in Ookami-san, and in whatever anime wherein the girl has a more dominating personality than the male protagonist. Honestly, it’s a punch that I find a cute. Hehe. Anyway, the show is also good but objectively, Mayo Chiki! is better, minus the ecchi scenes.

      By the way, I hope you didn’t get mad at me for tagging you

      Huh? I actually enjoyed it! :) And I am really thankful Hoshiko. I was thankful I saw a comment you made from a blog post that was featured in Freshly Pressed last year, if I didn’t see that, well, we (I) wouldn’t be writing this now.

  2. Pingback: The Anime Interrogation Game « Bishie Holic

Let me know what you think:

